State Holidays | Georgia.gov

Donate Securely with PayPal

Choose currency

Enter amount

You are here

Overview:

During the year, state employees observe 12 holidays.

What You Should Know:

State offices will be closed for the following holidays during 2019:

  • Tuesday, January 1 — New Year’s Day
  • Monday, January 21 — Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday
  • Monday, April 22 — State Holiday
  • Monday, May 27 — Memorial Day
  • Thursday, July 4 — Independence Day
  • Monday, September 2 — Labor Day
  • Monday, October 14 — Columbus Day
  • Monday, November 11 — Veterans Day
  • Thursday, November 28 — Thanksgiving Day
  • Friday, November 29 — State Holiday
  • Tuesday, December 24 — State Holiday
  • Wednesday, December 25 — Christmas Day

FAQs:

Who decides what holidays Georgia’s state government offices observe?

State law requires the Governor to designate a minimum of 12 holidays each year, including all federal holidays.

Do all state agencies observe the same holidays?

Nearly all state agencies observe the holidays on the days designated.

There are a few exceptions as required by agency needs. For example, Department of Driver Services offices are normally closed Monday, so these offices observe Monday holidays on the preceding Saturday. State parks are typically open on holidays and may even host special events.

If you are in doubt as to whether an agency may be closed on a given day, please contact the agency before visiting.

Updated: January 22, 2019. This information was prepared as a public service of the State of Georgia to provide general information, not to advise on any specific legal problem. It is not, and cannot be construed to be, legal advice.

Source

Related posts

Leave a Comment